Access the Data

About this database

The Digital Services Trade Restrictiveness Index database identifies and catalogues barriers that affect trade in digitally enabled services across 85 countries and economies.

The policy measures are categorised under five policy areas:

  • Infrastructure and connectivity
  • Electronic transactions
  • Payment systems
  • Intellectual property rights
  • Other barriers affecting trade in digitally enabled services

The STRI indicators and database have been updated to 2022.

Regulatory data for the following countries was collected in collaboration with:

  • the UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean: Argentina; Bolivia; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; Guatemala; Paraguay; Uruguay.
  • the UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific: Brunei Darussalam; Cambodia; Lao PDR; Hong-Kong, China; Nepal; Pakistan; Vanuatu.
  • the UN Economic Commission for Africa: Cameroon; Ethiopia; Eswatini; Gambia (the); Kenya; Lesotho; Madagascar; Mali; Rwanda; Senegal; Seychelles; Uganda; Zambia; Zimbabwe.
  • the OECD Global Relations Secretariat South East Europe Division: Albania; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Montenegro; North Macedonia; Serbia; Kosovo*.

The entries in the database are documented with reference to the sources.

Note: OECD is not responsible for the content or availability of external websites.

* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244/99 and the Advisory Opinion of the International Court of Justice on Kosovo’s declaration of independence.